“The Silent Dancer in the Flames”

 

Jpeg

“The Silent Dancer in the Flames”

.

Oil Pastel (2015) by Alison Brierley

.

THE SILENT DANCER

.

Spectators All
Cheer On the Reluctant Fire Dancers
Executing their Final Performance 
Slaves to the Purple Post
Writhing in the Flames
Just one Leap away from Redemption
And then Another

I am the Silent Dancer
I did not have to Dance the Exquisite Dance
I did not have to Suffer the Burn

but Embraced its Searing Release
I am already Dead you See
I did not Survive the Torture
The Asphyxiation
The Crush of Rock on Rib and Lung

But they Tied me to the Mast 
Just to Be Sure
And Burnt me Anyway
Along with my Sisters

.

.

By Alison Brierley

(8th June 2015)

.

One in a series of works brought about by my exploration into the “TRUTH TELLING YEARS” aka MENOPAUSE.

.

.

Look out for blogs on my other ART projects – SHAMANIC ROADKILL CAPE, PLACENTA  ART &COOKERY, PLACENTA BOOTIES,  PLACENTA DISCO-BOOTIES, SHAMANIC SHAKTI BEAVER MERKINANTI  BADGER-CULL TRIP-TIC, ROADKILL SQUIRREL TESTICLE EARRINGS  , BURNING-MAN ASARO MUD-FAMILY PERFORMANCE ART , JAPANESE WISHING TREE and many many more!!

.

As with a lot of my work, I aspire to gently push the viewer, including myself, to question preconceptions and socio-cultural taboos by creating something beautiful and compelling from something dead and/or socially repulsive.

.

.

.

.

.

